Location Based Permissions for Users in UpKeep

How to set permissions so that your users can only see certain Locations and the attributes tied to those locations

Joseph Schmitt avatar
Written by Joseph Schmitt
Updated over a week ago

Available On: Starter, Professional and Business Plus


Location Based Permissions enable users from the same company, spanning multiple physical locations, to access a single UpKeep instance using a single email address and consistent company settings. However, their view and access are tailored to their specific work location(s). Users may have access to one, multiple, or all locations, depending on their role. It's important to ensure that users are appropriately assigned to the relevant location(s) to align with their visibility and responsibilities. 🌐🏢👥🔍👩‍💼👨‍💼📊


How to Set Up Locations Based Permissions

  1. Admin, Log into UpKeep and navigate to People and Teams

  2. Locate the user via email or name

  3. Click on this user, in the side bar that pops open scroll down and locate

    Location Based Permissions One Pager - Google Chrome 2022-11-10 at 1.33.25 PM
  4. Click on the BLUE Location Access words and you should see this window pop open

    Image 2022-11-10 at 1.38.03 PM
  5. Click on the Locations that this user needs to be able to see, and click Save

  6. Now when this user logs in the next time they will ONLY be able to see the LOCATIONS you have selected for hem to see.

Quick Walkthrough:


How to Turn OFF Location Based Permissions

When an admin logs into UpKeep clicks on a user under People & Teams and brings up their user details, at the very bottom will be a `Location-Based User` Toggle. When toggled OFF, users can see all Locations and attributes tied to them.

  1. Admin, Log into UpKeep and navigate to People and Teams

  2. Locate the user via email or name

  3. Click on this user, in the side bar that pops open scroll down and locate

    Location Based Permissions One Pager - Google Chrome 2022-11-10 at 1.33.25 PM
  4. Click on the Button to turn it OFF

    Image 2022-11-10 at 1.42.49 PM

What all can a user see when Location based permissions are turned on?

Users see only the following data objects with a location assignment relevant to their location.

  • Parts

    • Parts/Inventory module

    • Web: Counts on Parts/Inventory for items that need action (i.e. Parts running low or out of stock) respects user’s location access

    • Parts on Work Orders view, edit, and creation

      • This includes hiding parts and associated costs even if added to the work order

    • Parts on Assets view, edit, and creation

    • Parts on Purchase Orders creation and edit

      • Already created purchase orders with parts for other locations are still visible and the parts on them are all visible

    • Parts on PM Triggers edit and creation

    • You can still create parts for other locations but they will not be visible after creation

  • Assets

    • Assets module

    • Assets on Work Orders view, edit, and creation

    • Assets on requests edit and creation

    • Assets on PM Triggers edit and creation

    • Assets on Meters edit and creation

    • You can still create assets for other locations but they will not be visible after creation

  • Work Orders view

    • Work Orders module

    • You can still create work orders for other locations but they will not be visible after creation

  • Meters view

    • Meters module

    • You can still create meters for other locations but they will not be visible after creation

  • Locations

    • Locations module

    • Locations on Work Orders edit and creation

    • Locations on Assets edit and creation

    • Locations on Requests edit and creation

    • Locations on PM Triggers edit and creation

    • Locations on Meters edit and creation

    • Locations on Parts edit and creation

  • Requests

    • As mentioned above, when adding assets and locations to a new or existing request the dropdown list will be restricted based on what locations the user has access to

    • Web counts in the left nav and what requests are visible are not affected by location access


FAQ about Locations Based Permissions

Does this affect notifications?

Answer: At this time notifications are not affected by changes in location based permissions.

Does this filter down what locations can be selected in requests?

Answer: Yes

Can admins change their own location permissions?

Answer: Yes

Does this affect the “action needed” counts in blue bubbles in the left navigation on web?

Answer: No, those action item counts will still be looking at all entities across the org regardless of permissions

Are analytics and reports restricted by this?

Answer: No, all data across all locations is still accessible in analytics.

Did this answer your question?