Limited Technicians and Technician users are very similar. Both user types cannot edit or delete anything they have not created themselves including work orders, locations, assets, meters, or parts.

So if an admin user creates something in the account, limited techs and techs cannot change or delete it.

The main difference between limited technicians and technicians:

  • Limited Technicians only see or view details on work orders, locations, assets (including all asset hierarchy levels), and meters they are assigned to or have created themselves!

  • Technicians can see all work orders, locations, and assets on the account.

Why?

This is to streamline the view and work of the limited technician. For teams with more data or more workers, things can be confusing or get cluttered on who needs to do what.

For limited technicians, they will only see the items they need to work on or worry about. They won't see any other locations or other technicians' work and can focus on themselves.


Create A Team of Limited Technicians

TIP: If you have multiple limited technicians that need to be assigned to the same object, you can create a Team and assign the entire Team to the object. Everyone on the team will be assigned.

  1. Navigate to the People and Teams section

  2. Click on the Teams tab on the top left

  3. Then click on + Team

  4. Add your users

Once your team of limited technicians is created, you can add them to work orders, locations, and assets so they can view it!


How to Assign your Limited Technicians to Locations

There are three ways you can assign your limited technicians to a location:

1 - Individually whenever you create or edit each Location

  • Click on the Worker or Team field to open a drop-down menu of the users or team of users you would like to assign.

  • Once added, click Save! Your limited technicians should now be able to see that location!

2 - Bulk importing new locations into your account using a CSV

  • Column F (Assigned to ID) and/or Column G (Team Assigned to ID) on the Import Template will need to be filled in with the Limited Techs ID. This can be found in the URL bar once you click on the limited tech under People and Teams.

    Image 12-13-2021 at 12.32 PM

3 - Bulk Update Existing Locations

  • Column J (Assigned to ID) and/or Column L (Team Assigned ID) on the Export file will need to be filled in with the Limited Techs ID. This can be found in the URL bar once you click on the limited tech under People and Teams

    Image 12-13-2021 at 12.32 PM

How to Assign your Limited Technicians to Assets

With the new asset hierarchy release, you will need to make sure that every Limited Technician is assigned to each level of asset hierarchy in order for them to have access to it and see the details of each asset. There is a couple of ways you can do this.

1 - Individually whenever you create or edit each Location

  • Click on the Worker, Additional Worker, or Team field to open a drop-down menu of the users or team of users you would like to assign.

  • Once added, click Save! Your limited technicians should now be able to see that location!

2 - Bulk importing new assets into your account using a CSV

  • Column I (Worker ID) and/or Column Q (Team ID) on the Import Template will need to be filled in with the Limited Techs ID. This can be found in the URL bar once you click on the limited tech under People and Teams

    Image 12-13-2021 at 12.32 PM

3 - By Updating Existing Assets, First make sure you export current assets

  • Column L (Worker ID) and/or Column V (Team ID)on the Export file will need to be filled in with the Limited Techs ID. This can be found in the URL bar once you click on the limited tech under People and Teams

    Image 12-13-2021 at 12.32 PM

Assigning Limited Technicians to Work Orders

  1. Create a new work order or edit an existing one

  2. Assign your limited technician to the Worker, Additional Worker, or Team field

TIP: Keep in mind they need to be assigned to the work order or be the one to create the work order to view it.

They cannot edit the work order details if someone else created the work order and assigned it to them.

Did this answer your question?